Nigeria penalizes 100 travelers, impose 6-month travel ban over violations COVID-19 protocol


The Presidential Task Force on Tuesday announced a six-month travel restriction against the holders of 100 passports who failed to comply with the mandatory Day 7 post-arrival COVID-19 test.

The country is facing an ongoing second wave of pandemic.

According to, the six-month travel restriction will be imposed “from Feb 5 to July 30, 2021,” the task force said Tuesday in a tweet.

This comes while Nigeria’s health authorities have confirmed six more COVID-19 deaths and 643 new infections in the last 24 hours.

“Till (Monday), 14,0391 cases have been confirmed, 11,4635 cases have been discharged and1,673 deaths have been recorded in 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory,” Nigeria’s Centre for Disease Control announced in its latest update.

Nigeria’s commercial capital Lagos remains the most affected state with a tally of 344 COVID-19-related deaths and 51,771 infections.

It is followed by the country’s federal capital, Abuja, with 128 deaths and 17,858 infections, and Plateau State with 56 confirmed deaths and 8,342 infections, according to the official figures.

Leave a Comment